Something about Knitting Needles

I am almost done writing my master thesis, which means I have extra free time for knitting and sewing and new projects! But first, I want to share something that I learned the other day, while buying some wool to finish a sweater. I am currently knitting two projects on 4,5 needles and needed an extra pair. I asked in the shop, but they just had interchangeable needles from a different brand then the ones I already have. I was ready to search for simple cheap needles to finish my project in another shop… But! The friendly shop owner informed me that all interchangeable knitting needles, that use a screwed connection, are all produced by the same manufacturer (at lest in the european market, I guess…).

For me, that was such a revolutionary information! It means that I don’t have to stick to the more expensive KnitPro needle collection, but I can add other, cheaper brands to my set! I can buy exchangeable needles anywhere, and they will all fit together! Knitting can be an expensive hobby, so this is a nice way to show some ways to make it more financially accessible!

IMG_20170712_112643
The two pairs on the left are KnitPro and the pair on the right is Drops.

Just to compare: the KnitPro needle tips size 4,5 cost 5,99€, the Drops ones 4,50€. And just the colors are a bit different… 1,50€ saved that I can spend on more wool! Maybe this was not new for you, but for me, this is quite a revelation.

Anyway, of course there are other brands and systems out there: Addi needles are the only ones still produced in Germany (for the seventh generation!), and the have beautiful (but pricey) needles made of olive wood. For straight needles and crochet hooks, there are several small producers existing, some of them working with social projects, like these multi colored crochet hooks from Switzerland.

2 Kommentare zu „Something about Knitting Needles

  1. I love my knit Pro Symfonie Wooden needles. 😊 I tried bamboo and carbon ones, but they are not for me. Also, I do think the cheaper ones are actually not so well fabricated. I had some problems with some cheaper needle tips and cables. 🙄

    Gefällt mir

    1. So true! The cheaper bamboo and metal needles (especially older ones…) are just not as smooth… I just observed, that the KnitPro Symfonie needles and the (cheaper) Drops needles are actually exactly the same in production and feel. The only difference is the price and the color! However, I totally vote for buying good quality needles as they are the most important tool (after our hands ;-)…

      Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

