Guest Post: How a piece of clothing changed my life

Allgemein, feminism, inspiration, vintage

Exciting times! This is the first time someone else than me is writing on my blog! Eve asked me to write about her favorite jacket, so here we go:

Really honored to be a guest writer, thank you Clara, for giving me the chance to write about my best clothes experience of 2016!

For years I was looking for a jean jacket, but couldn’t find THE ONE. Too big, too short, the blue is too dark, the fabric is not nice, it is too expensive… As you can see, I was picky, but one day the perfect jean jacket crossed my way and since then we are inseparable.

Helsinki, July 2016. On an empty street, shortly before catching the ferry, stood a second hand shop. This is where I fell for what became MY jean jacket.

photo3

One day wearing it and I wondered what I did all these years without it. I discovered the joy – yes the joy – of stuffing my money and my Opinel in the front-right pocket, and my keys in the front-left one. I can even put my smartphone in the pocket inside and still use my side pockets to put my hands when I don’t know what to do with them.

photo4

All of that and still looking stylish!

This is truly a revolution for me, a woman who grew up in a society where fashion is constantly disabling women. Countless pants and jackets without pockets (or worst: with fake ones), sweaters too short and too thin so that women can be cute, but cold the whole Winter. Shoes not made for walking and so on.

BUT time of carrying wallet and keys in a bag is O-V-E-R! I feel independent and free in public space by simply having everything I need at hand. The fear of pick-pocket in the subway is also over. If I have to run for my life, I don’t have to worry for my bag anymore.

AND I slowly learn to take the strict necessary: money-keys-phone, the three winners in a good old jean jacket!

photo5

photo1

all photos by Eve Jégou

Ein Gedanke zu “Guest Post: How a piece of clothing changed my life

Kommentar verfassen

