Slow Fashion October: Long Worn

Allgemein, inspiration, knitting, recycling, sewing, vintage

This weeks theme of Slow Fashion October is Long Worn, and how we can make most of the clothes we own, store bought or handmade. I like mending and I love altering clothes that I don’t like anymore and for this post I collected some ideas on how to give the stuff we own another life.

dsc02636

This skirt is SO ready for its new life!

Dye it!

This is maybe one of my favorites and to be honest I am not even getting very creative here. I always dye clothes black in the washing machine (there is a goth hiding inside me…). The faded out black basic t-shirts and pants get some fresh color and some pants in a weird blue get wearable and fit in my wardrobe. The only tricky part with this is that most store-bought clothing has seams made of polyester thread which doesn’t take the dye, so be aware of that when you dye something bright.

Mend it!

I wrote about mending socks with giant holes, but I also mend tiny holes, ripped seams, moth holes in sweaters and all sorts of other damages.

Refashion it!

I admit: All shorts I own were long jeans once. It is not perfect, as most pants are a bit too tight around the legs, but they will do. I actually have a jeans waiting right now in my to-do-basket to be cut into shorts!

Refashioning vintage skirts into tops is another favorite of mine. If you happen to catch a sales day at your local thrift store you can get fabric for a summer top for one euro! On top of it you have the endless choice of excellent vintage prints.

Too short or ill-fitting t-shirts make great underwear, by the way.

Unravel it!

Last winter I unraveled a sweater I bought on the flea market, it’s a very slow but satisfying process. I still didn’t figure out what to do with the yarn, but inspiration will come. I tend to be quite radical with things I knit as well: If they don’t fit me, I prefer to unravel weeks and weeks of work than leaving a sweater in the corner because it is too short. I love knitting for the fact that you can make and remake something over and over again, until you find the perfect garment. The material is minimally cut and can take all sorts of new shapes. Making is not only about the finished product in the end.

Ein Gedanke zu “Slow Fashion October: Long Worn

Kommentar verfassen

